Bot-Free Meeting Transcription on Mac (2026): Local and No-Bot Options Compared
By Kiran Jd
Published
By Kiran Jd
Published
Short answer: To transcribe meetings on a Mac without a bot joining the call and without audio leaving your Mac, use MacWhisper Pro (€64 once) or Speakmac Meeting Mode ($29 once, beta). Superwhisper and Spokenly also record meetings locally, as part of dictation apps with free tiers. For open-source and fully local, try Meetily or Anarlog. If you want polished AI notes and don't mind the cloud, Granola joins no bot but sends audio off your Mac for transcription. Fathom and Otter offer bot-free desktop capture as an option.
Disclosure: Speakmac is our app. Every other price and claim below comes from the vendor's own pricing or help pages.
Prices checked October 11, 2026.
"Bot-free" and "private" are not the same thing:
If client confidentiality or an NDA is the reason, you want both.
| App | Bot in the call? | Where audio is transcribed | Works offline | Free option | Paid price | Speaker labels |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speakmac Meeting Mode (beta) | No | On your Mac | Yes | 5 trial recordings | $29 once (1 Mac), $39 once (2 Macs) | You / Others |
| MacWhisper Pro | No | On your Mac (cloud optional) | Yes | Free app covers files, not meetings | €64 once | Yes (Pro) |
| Superwhisper | No | Local or cloud | Yes, with local models | Free tier includes meeting recording | Pro $8.49/mo | Yes |
| Spokenly | No | Local or cloud | Yes, with local models | Free local models | Pro $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr | Not stated |
| Meetily | No | On your Mac | Yes | Free, open source (MIT) | Pro $120/yr | Pro feature |
| Anarlog (formerly Hyprnote) | No | Local or hosted | Yes | Free, open source (MIT) | Pro $15/mo or $150/yr | Manual |
| Shadow | No | On your Mac | Not stated | Free transcription | Plus $8/mo (AI notes) | Not stated |
| talat (pre-release) | No | On your Mac | Yes | 10 hours free | $9/mo, $89/yr, or $189 lifetime | Yes |
| Granola | No | Cloud | No | Free: last 30 days of notes | Business $14/user/mo | Me / Them; names on Zoom, Meet, Teams |
| Jamie | No | Cloud (EU) | No | 10 notes/month, 30 min each | Plus €21/mo billed yearly | Yes |
| Fathom | Optional (bot-free beta on Mac) | Not stated | No | Free unlimited recordings | Premium $16/mo yearly | Yes |
| Otter | Optional | Cloud | No | 300 min/month | Pro $8.33/mo yearly or $16.99 monthly | Yes |
| Krisp | Optional | English on-device, other languages cloud | Not stated | 7-day trial | Core $8/mo yearly or $16 monthly | Yes |
| Apple Notes | No | Not stated by Apple | Not stated | Free, built in | n/a | Not stated |
Apple Notes records phone and FaceTime calls and in-person audio on Apple Silicon Macs. Apple doesn't document capturing Zoom or Teams calls, so it isn't a general meeting recorder.
Speakmac is a Mac dictation app with a Meeting Mode beta. Meeting Mode records your microphone and the Mac's system audio locally, so it works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams or anything else that plays sound. It produces a searchable transcript with You and Others speaker labels and timestamps. No bot joins, and in on-device mode the audio and transcript stay on your Mac.
MacWhisper Pro records system audio from meetings and transcribes it locally, with speaker recognition. It's also the strongest tool for audio and video files. €64 once with lifetime updates. Cloud transcription and bring-your-own-key AI prompts are optional. Requires macOS 14 or later, and Parakeet models and local speaker recognition need Apple Silicon.
Superwhisper includes meeting recording and transcription even on its free tier, with local Whisper models. Pro ($8.49/month) adds cloud models and more. Offline AI summaries only work in some modes with its local model. Offline models run best on Apple Silicon.
Meetily Community Edition is MIT-licensed, with local transcription and local AI summaries. Speaker identification needs Pro ($120/year).
Anarlog, formerly Hyprnote and then Char, is MIT-licensed. It offers unlimited on-device transcription and works with local LLMs through Ollama or LM Studio, and saves notes as Markdown. Pro ($15/month) adds hosted models and sync.
Granola doesn't join calls. It listens on your Mac and turns your rough notes into polished AI notes. Audio is streamed to a transcription provider and then deleted, and transcription needs internet. The free plan includes unlimited meetings, but note history is limited to the last 30 days. Business costs $14/user/month. Choose it for the notes quality, not for privacy.
Bots aren't all bad. Fireflies, tl;dv, Zoom's AI Companion, Teams Premium recap and Google Meet's "Take notes for me" record the meeting even when you aren't on a Mac. They also share recordings with the team and plug into CRMs. If your company already pays for one of those, it may be the simplest answer.
Whatever the app, tell participants you're recording. Recording-consent laws vary by country and US state, and many require everyone's consent. "No bot" removes the visible tile. It doesn't remove the duty to ask.
Use an app that records your Mac's system audio and mic: Speakmac Meeting Mode, MacWhisper Pro, Superwhisper, Granola, or Fathom's bot-free mode. Nothing joins the call.
Yes. Speakmac Meeting Mode, MacWhisper Pro, Meetily and Anarlog transcribe on your Mac with no internet. So do Superwhisper and Spokenly with local models. Granola, Otter and Jamie need the cloud.
For free: Superwhisper's free tier, Spokenly's local models, or open-source Meetily and Anarlog. For a one-time purchase: Speakmac at $29 or MacWhisper Pro at €64.
Yes. Granola doesn't use a bot, but its help docs say audio is streamed to a transcription provider and deleted after transcription. Transcription and AI notes need internet.
Apple documents Notes recording for phone and FaceTime calls and in-person audio on Apple Silicon Macs. It does not document capturing Zoom or Teams audio.